h1

Review for Megaman (Chief Mendez)

November 29, 2008

Originality: Oh wow. Using stuff from Megaman 2, 3 and 9, and mixing it with a fairly unexpected playstyle, this moveset sure is insanely original. The Specials are pretty interesting too, namely the Neutral Special – first only being a normal buster cannon, after killing an enemy you recieve a special power from them. Some of them are useless, some of them are awesome, and they even have strengths against other characters. Every character of the Brawl cast has recieved one of these small attacks, so yea. Also, most attacks are projectiles or at least insanely ranged. Strange, yet interesting, and definitely unique. tl;dr version: Very original!

Detail: It has the right amount of detail. It isn’t only a few words, but also isn’t going overboard. Everything which needs more detail has recieved it. All fine. Odd thing that the throws have the longest descriptions (next to the Neutral Special, of course). O.o

Balance: Some of those move sound extremely broken, in my opinion. Are you sure with the Pro/Con-stuff? Only a few killing moves? But so many of them do good knockback! Some of these moves need to be recovered or have some twists to them, yet alone the recovery move needing 20 seconds (!) to be refilled before being able to used again… I think all of that makes up for Megaman having so powerful moves with such insane range. I still think some of the moves are a bit overpowered, but that’s just me, I guess…

Relevance to Character: No complaint here. All moves are directly taken from actual Megaman games or imitate them. The only thing I dislike is that Megaman uses the X Saber AND (!) comes in appearance of X. But again, that’s just me. Knowing all of the mentioned attacks oh so well, this moveset gave me an insanely nostalgic feel. So kudos to you for that, Mendez.

Extras: A few are here – Kirby Hat, Logo, Taunts and Music. But what! There’s no Victory Poses or Snake Codec? Aww… Ah well. You could add a few little more things, like, a stage or said victory stances, but otherwise, all good.

Organization: Oooo, nostalgic. Oldschool-esque font for the sections, especially lovely made with the “Get equipped with …” line from the games. Nice use of colours and BBCode. It’s all easy to read, I especially love the last part with the “Game Over”-line, as well. Great job on that!

Overall: Megaman was a very fun moveset to read, and I highly enjoyed it. Albeit it doesn’t have such overboarding amount of detail like those movesets of a certain Master, it still is one of the strongest contenders in this contest – and definitely one of Mendez’ best works. If you haven’t read Megaman yet, do it. You gotta love Mendez’ writing style.

One comment

  1. That’s about as many extras as you’re going to see in any of my MYM4 ‘sets, man. So you’d better get used to it. ;P

    So anyways.

    I intentionally stuck almost-exclusively to ranged attacks/attacks that come out of his arm cannon since that’s basically all he does in the games. I felt that tacking on some random punches or kicks would be doing a disservice to the games I was thinking of as I made this.

    Chris and kit345 said the same thing about the balance, so I’m actively looking into that. In my defense, balancing well over 50 moves for one character can sort of skew your view on that aspect when you’re in the heat of things…

    And I did use X’s sprite. That’s true. In general I tried to put at least a tiny bit from the different Mega Man universes into it. Obviously the majority comes from the original series, but the appearance and Side Special come from X, and there’s even some Legends and ZX thrown in there.

    Battle Network is absent for a reason.

    SO

    Very, very glad you liked it so much. I freaked out every time I thought of the perfect weapon to use for a certain move, so I’m glad one of the people who’ve reviewed this baby feels the same way about the Blue Bomber.

    Thank ye kindly.



Leave a comment