h1

Review for Charley (cheap_josh)

November 28, 2008

Charley by cheap_josh

Originality: Well, it’s an original character. This makes it very original. Hurr. To be serious, though, almost all of her moves are quite unique (knife eyes ftw), and most of her Special mechanics are very interesting. She does what a ghost does, and she does it well. I can’t really say that she needs much more improvement, considering that even the not so creative looking moves (F Tilt) are rather nicely done.

Detail: The detail is all given. It’s not too much, but also definitely fitting into the new standard for MYM 4. Hard-to-imagine moves are aided with pictures. I only had a little bit trouble of understanding the move when it started involving Charley’s head rotating, but I guess that’s just me. Other than that, no complaints here. I love cheap_josh’s style of writing… very laid-back and funny.

Balance: From what I’ve seen, Charley seems very balanced. She has trouble killing enemies, but can rack up damage nicely. She’s a light weight and has a move to charlycide (heehee) with the enemy. Nicely done in balancing out. I also like the fact how in the Final Smash all objects do different knockback and damage depending on their size. The Vanish move could easily be broken, but the staling makes up enough for that.

Relevance to Character: Well, I certainly don’t know much about her, but she seems very fitting to what she is – a ghost. She uses moves involving morphing into ectoplasm or vanishing, or rotating her head, or summoning other spirits. Also, I love her backstory (sponge in the throat? Priceless!).

Extras: The lack of a Snake Codec is a bit sad, in my opinion, but oh well. There’s an extremely hilarious stage, and the best taunt ever (She boos! Get it?), and a great logo.

Organization: Color, BBCode, paragraphs, all rounded up with several pictures to ease the read… Perfectly done.

Overall: Charley, being the first Original Character submitted into MYM 4, made by one of my favourite OC designers, stands definitely out in making a simply ghost so versatile and smash-fit. She easily can stand up against other contenders who were submitted during the first few pages, and is a very fun read. I can only recommend checking out Charley since it’s a very interesting and cool moveset made by one of my favourite contestants.

2 comments

  1. Thanks, although I believe Charley is the second OC, behind Doggy and Bear.


  2. She is, but Doggy & Bear aren’t finished yet. :P



Leave a comment